Gun violence and a father’s pledge!

I could not run home fast enough this past Friday after hearing what happened at the Sandyhook Elementary School in Connecticut. I felt like crying every time I stopped to think about it. But I contained my emotions. I wanted to hug my kids so much, and so tight. And then, when my two kids, my wife and I were having dinner, my 2 year old joked about something, we all laughed, and then I could not hold my tears back any longer. I cried. I cried like a baby. In front of my kids. And my wife had to plead with me to stop because my kids were confused and getting scared. There were 20 parents and 6 other families that night that also cried. And none of us can even imagine their pain and sorrow.

It’s taken me an entire weekend playing with the kids, and celebrating an early holiday gift opening, to recover and to be able to digest my own feelings about guns in our society.

I did not grow up in this country, but I know the gun culture better than an average American because I grew up in a city that has seen more than any city’s fair share of gun violence and death.

I grew up in Karachi, Pakistan in the 80’s, right after the Afghan civil war erupted next door, and the city got inundated with guns and klashnikovs. Where I grew up, guns were like marijuana – you knew where to find one easily if you wanted one. In some ways my innocence was taken away early in school as I remember hunkering down under the benches in my class while members of the rival political parties shot AK-47s and TT revolvers at each other in our play yard. Yeah I am not joking. Go look up Karachi violence in the 80s and early 90s. The society I grew up in had become so immune to guns that when a fellow high schooler dropped a semi-automatic gun on the class floor, the kid sitting in front of him just picked it up and handed it back before the teacher could see it. No questions asked.

So I have seen what an abundance of guns does to a city and to a people. Dozens of people are killed in that city every day now in gun violence. Yes, every day. Karachiites live in fear, and those who have the heaviest weapons and armed guards, live in the worst state of panic. Young girls are gunned down for speaking about wanting to attend school, and businessmen are routinely killed if they don’t close their businesses when a strike is called. Robbers showed my brother a gun at a traffic stop to snatch his phone and wallet, and one of his friend’s got arrested recently because he was found carrying a gun that had been gifted to him by his political party leadership.

So when I read arguments from the pro-gun lobby in the USA, esp in the light of this Friday’s massacre, I am not only angered, but also deeply deeply saddened. I have seen this story played out and the end is not fun. The high school I attended in Karachi now has armed guards at its entrance gates, the mosque I prayed all my childhood now has snipers posted on the roof, and many relatives and friends can now travel outside their fortified residences only when accompanied by armed guards. And it’s not just due to criminal and terrorist plots. I have seen a sub-machine gun pulled out even when some rich bastard’s luxury car got into an accident with a poor guy’s taxi and the argument got over-heated.

Guns kill people. They are built to do that and the only reason they are manufactured now. And those people killed mercilessly can be young children and teachers too, like those in that school in CT, whose lives were taken for no fault of theirs. Those who died are now gone, and as someone who has seen plenty of people die on the streets in Karachi, let me tell you…it’s not those who die that hurt. They likely go to a paradise unknown to the rest of us. But it is their loved ones who are left with an empty bed, memories and a sorrow that would never go away. They hurt for the rest of their lives.

I can’t even imagine what parents of those 20 kids went through. But I know I would be a destroyed man if I was one of them. I have not done enough in the past to jump into the gun debate, but that changed this Friday. I won’t stay quiet or disengaged. My 2 year old, my 4 year old, and all other kids expect and deserve better from me. I pledge to fight NRA, politicians and anybody else who supports easy access to guns in our society. Join me, listen to your conscience, and do what’s right for our society.

Fuck guns!

5 Responses to Gun violence and a father’s pledge!

  1. kayzafar says:

    Yeah fuck guns! All the schmucks citing statistics that cars kill more people than guns are idiots. I wish they made all their decisions based on stats; e.g. obesity kills more than smoking so go share a joint with your kid rather than grab a happy meal with him. Or that falling televisions have caused more deaths in US than all the terrorists hence all the steps taken to curb terrorism is stupidity.

    Then there is the lot that says if you eradicate guns, people will resort to knives hence ban those as well. That’s non sense also. Guns are solely made to kill. Knives are not. Get me a gun which can chop onions and I may be bothered to listen to pro-gun arguments. Need to weigh the pros and cons of everything and if the cons outweigh pros, ditch it. Same goes for the cars argument; I can’t commute to work on a gun, but I can in a car.

    All the hunters and shooting sports enthusiasts – how about if the guns are available at hunting lodges, shooting ranges and sporting events only – sort of like golf kits. You can even buy and check-in your own and checkout for practice and sports or hunting.

    For starters, I think all automatic weapon sales need to be banned to civilians. Some sort of a rebate/swap program needs to be announced to reclaim the sold guns. Everyone owning a gun needs to go through a psych evaluation to ensure they don’t have a tendency to ‘lose it’. Severe punishment to the gun owner if the weapon is used in any killings – if you can’t keep it freaking safe, don’t freaking own it!

    Eventually, all guns need to be taken away from all civilians. Guns are weapons! They are solely made to kill! Killing is bad! That’s the bottomline!

  2. […] Gun Violence and a Father’s Pledge – written by a Tasterie friend and food allergy parent who grew up in city in Pakistan where gun violence took over. He’s fearful of the trend he now sees in America. […]

  3. Dennis Pucello says:

    Mr. Zuberi,
    I too cried when I saw the news and what had occurred in Newtown Ct. In short I was disgusted. I could go into great detail about the shortcomings associated with gun ownership… But not now. At this point I only want to help in what ever way to help eradicate our gun culture. I do not know if this is where to start, but I looking for direction.
    Dennis Pucello

  4. Kent says:

    I lived in England for four years in the late 80’s/early 90’s. The year I left, 1991, there were around 50 firearms related deaths in the entire country (50+ million people). And it’s about the same level today. The year I moved to Minneapolis, 1995, there were around 60 handgun related murders in just that city.

    Contrary to what many Americans believe, the real Britian is not the genteel society of Downton Abbey and Masterpiece Theater fame. There is a fair amount of crime and violence. There just aren’t many guns with which to shoot one another.

    Bilal, I could not agree more that the easy availability of firearms is at the heart of the problem in this country.

  5. Hi Bilal!
    I recently discovered your blog and I think you have many interesting articles, clearly well written and on top of everything, touching and respectful. I was wondering if you would be interested in sharing your posts on Glipho? I bet that our users would love to read your material! It’s a quite new social publishing platform, where you can connect to every social network accounts, really easy to use it and communicate with your followers. In additional, you are able to import the posts from your blog in a super-easy way without affecting it at all.
    Please, have a look and take a tour to know more about http://glipho.com/. If you would like to set up your account, please do not hesitate to ask me for further information and I will send you an invitation.
    I hope you will join our Glihpo community soon. 🙂
    All the best,
    Maite

Leave a Reply

