Miles to go before I sleep….

My good friend Adil brought this to my attention via his blog pakistaniat.com. It is a TV advertisement for a mobile phone company in Pakistan. But that is probably the least of what it is. It totally rocked my world. I have heard over and over again for the past hour or so. And I can’t seem to stop. The song, the video, the story has such a strong message – for people like me who left their country of birth in search of a better future, but who have so much they still owe to the country and people they left behind.

I am also reminded of my favorite poem (by Robert Frost):

The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

also “still trying to figure out what to make of it. As a song. As a video. As message. As an advertisement.” But I know what it is asking of me…from so many of us. I am reminded of my favorite poem by Robert Frost:
The woods are lovely, dark and deep,

But I have promises to keep,

And miles to go before I sleep,

And miles to go before I sleep.

2 Responses to Miles to go before I sleep….

  1. shubas says:

    Awesome lyrics. It spoke to my soul. Thanks for posting.

  2. mao says:

    I stumbled across your blog in search of a pakora recipe. For some reason I explored a bit more and ended up on this post.

    I keep a close eye on pakistani ads, but somehow I hadn’t seen this one yet. You’re right, its phenomenal. They told the most amazing story without it looking cliched, awkward and without one hair out of place. Truly beautiful production work. Thanks for sharing this. I completely share your thoughts on the video.

Leave a Reply

