A beautiful saying by Rumi

I tried to find Him on the Christian Cross, but He was not there; I went to the Temple of the Hindus and to the pagodas, but I could not find a trace of Him anywhere. I searched on the mountains and in the valley and across the deserts, but neither in the heights nor in the depths was I able to find Him. I went to the Kaaba in Mecca, but He was not there either. I questioned the scholars and the philosophers but He was beyond their understanding. I then looked into my heart and it was there where He dwelled that I saw Him; He is no where else to be found, for words are useless (specially sentences) and life defies definition.

~ Jalal Uddin Rumi.

4 Responses to A beautiful saying by Rumi

  1. mystic says:

    baqol ghalib..

    hota hai nihan gird main sehra mere hote

    (In myself I see the whole desert manifest in a grain)

  2. Firdavs says:

    All I want to say is that Rumi’s saying as a matter of fact beautiful and meaningful and answer t all human being’s problems.

  3. Fatima Mohadra says:

    The saying revives a dying heart…

  4. solar installers north west…

    […]A beautiful saying by Rumi « BZNotes![…]…

Leave a Reply

